A Little Too Much Anticipation

My introduction to online gaming, many moons ago, was a MUD called ‘Legends of Future Past’. The kind community, even certain individuals, still live vividly in my memory. I then discovered The Realm and Meridian 59… and ultimately EverQuest. I spent years and years playing games online, but ultimately decided to pull myself away from the computer and find my roots… and I am now an outdoor educator and backpacking guide in the Sierra Nevada mountains here in California.

After leaving EverQuest our guild, a group of friends that I have been gaming with for nearly two decades now, moved to Dark Age of Camelot. We also toyed with Shadowbane… a game that had a vast amount of open country. I loved that portion of the game, just exploring and finding new areas that I could discover. The feeling of being the first to see the place.

Not since those days of gaming (even going back to Pools of Radiance and Pools of Darkness) have I so anticipated a game like I do Oort. As the days pass, and as I quietly watch the forums and the updates, I have to insinuate some level of cynicism into my thoughts… in expectation that I may get my hopes far too high and find myself, once again, hoping to find a game that brings me as much joy as those early games many years ago.

Regardless, I wanted to introduce myself to the community, to stop skulking around, so to speak, and to thank the Devs for their hard work and passion… and the community for supporting them and their game. If a close group of founders are considering gathering a group of friends together to begin a community on opening day, please let me know. I intend on spending quite a bit of time in Oort, and hope to make as many friends here as I have in games past.

Thanks for reading!

10 Likes

Welcome Sverchekovich! Thanks for coming out of the shadows :wink:

3 Likes