How to create a biome?!

Hi everyone,

since I’m absolute noob in creating biomes, but somehow I’d like to participate, could one of you make some kind of step by step tutorial? In a way like for the prefabs. Best if you use many many screenshots to explain the individual parameters you use and also their combination effect.

When I remember right, there was once one, which tried to explaid the different noises. Maybe link it in here. But what I am more heading to is “hot to create one nice example biome”. In a way that we can see how you link “world builder brick” to the next… So we see, how each brick shapes the biome on.

Would anyone like to do so? I’m mainly talking to @nevir @alexanderyou @Tobelawe @Squidgy. There is someone else I could mention who has that much understanding of the builder? I think these are the names I basically see next to nice screenshots from the WB.

Would be nice, so I could maybe also participate somewhen :slight_smile:

5 Likes

I still have to get my head around all the new features, etc. then I will make another YouTube tutorial.

The only thing is time… which I don’t have much of at the moment!

4 Likes

I create a biome by just adding noise by noise until it looks cool

1 Like

Yeah, I know, this is one way. But I want to understand what is happening. I already tried stuff and played with parameters, but didn’t really understand what is happening. Which parameter infuences which behaviour, since some are not directly visible. Also I am always wondering how to connect my noise or other “bricks” right with my “world generator” or biome- “brick” you know? There are so many connection points to all of those pieces in world builder, but often I really don’t know which to chose, to gain an effect to a detail in the way I want.