Language translation - polish

I came across at least a handfull of people of my nationality that struggle with the language barier in Boundless. The main one is my wife who can’t speak english at all, but she loves Boundless so much she keeps playing it without knowing what means what… :stuck_out_tongue:

I’ve got some experience in modding and translating other games and I’ve noticed you’ve made other language files available already. Although I doubt you’d be translating it to polish (which is my native language) anytime soon. And there are a few of us Poles out there…

So… is it or would it be possible to include a community made language translation?
I could do it even all alone. I took a glance at the files and it doesn’t seem any more difficult than in other games. My time spent on explaining everything to my wife over and over could be used for greater things… :stuck_out_tongue:

P.S. If not, then would it be possible to use such translation for private purposes? I’m desperate…

12 Likes

I think that is a wonderful idea!

5 Likes

We would happily accept a community translation of the game. But it would be a significant undertaking.

If there is interest then we could publish a process for community submissions.

Is there anyone in the community who would be interested in helping to manage the process?

8 Likes

You can count me in. I’ve done game translations before.

@Karokendo ?
@Hashmalash ?

5 Likes

I already checked out translation files. Would love to contribute.
@Psyborg Main language json has 10.9k lines of text so we would have to split it in some way, give each person 2-3k lines of text and then after work is done verify it all.

All language files are located in Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Boundless\assets\archetypes\strings

We would have to hook up on skype and define polish definitions of various words like timber, smart stack etc… But I’m definitely up for that :slightly_smiling_face:
Let’s see how many people we have…