Order of protection paste vs fate paste

I am new at Centraforge use and have read a few threads in the forum and watched also some videos. There I did see that in most cases the protection paste is applied BEFORE the fate paste which gives 3* prot and 5* fate for the following compound. Wouldn’t it make more sense to go for fate first and then protection to have 4* and 4* for both? I believe I did even get more vigour when using a catalyst to reset when both pastes have 1-2 rounds left instead of prot going out and having only 2* fate left.

Is there a special reason to do prot paste before fate ? I guess that there is no official docs for alll those compounds, pastes etc…just trial and error with every new patch?

Fate Paste uses stability, IIRC.

Fate paste protects against bad RNG rolls. You should use it before a compound versus a paste or gum otherwise you are just wasting a portion of it.

Edit: I generally don’t go for perfect tools and long forges. So if this is strictly an endurance question on how to maintain a longer forge to get higher boons, I am not sure of the correct answer.

Assuming I remember everything correctly…

Protection paste reduces stability spent, whereas fate paste gives better RNG with rolls.

If you applied fate paste first, you would be wasting one round applying stability paste, since there is no RNG with adding paste.

However, the other way around, adding stability paste first reduces stability cost for fate and gets more bang for your buck.

2 Likes

I am coming through the same right now. As all people say Protection Paste reduces stability loss. So is good to use before applying:

• Pastes
  • Boon compounds

Wasted when applying:

• Gums
  • Catalysts
  • Solvents

I just want to point out, that it sometimes even makes sense is to re-apply Protection paste BEFORE the Protection paste expires because it also consumes Stability.
Seen at @Jiivita video here: https://youtu.be/-ng9if8khWU?t=782