Ancient Tech Component in march 2017 resource distribution

Hi everyone,

Summary: Where can I find Ancient Tech Components on Therka with the new resource distribution?

I’m pretty new to Boundless and have had a good time so far discovering the basics of the game as well as the exploration component. I have a small 2-plot base on Therka where I want to experiment and get a feel for the game’s crafting progression. I’m at the point where I want to create a Power Core to progress towards a warp upgrade for my totem, which needs Ancient Tech Components. I would prefer to reach the point where I can make a warp to another planet or a portal on my own, without relying on resources other players have gathered off-world

I’ve scoured the forums for leads but with the redistribution of resources it seems that all of the previous knowledge has been invalidated now. I’ve scoured caves high and low, walking north from my base until I came back to where I started. I’ve extensively searched both ice and desert areas in hopes of finding these with no luck.

What I’ve found so far: The more Common Tech Fragments used to be common in the cave near my base under the old system, now they seem to have disappeared entirely from caves. That leads me to wonder if Components might not be found there anymore either. A rare few Tech Fragments I could find on the sides of desert mountains (and one ice mountain with a lot of rock), but no Components and any caves under said mountains had no Tech fragments either.

Can anyone share any insights on finding them?

Unfortunately, this soon after the update it is anybody’s guess. Perhaps @Faelan could give us a clue, or @Stretchious could peer into the holy machine code for answers?

2 Likes

I haven’t had a chance to test the new resource distribution in game yet, but I did take a look at the new resource profiles in the game files.