Farming Question

Hi. I have been playing off an on for a couple years now. I recently came back after a long break and found a new thing, Farming!

I am excited. One of the first things I did after finding a nice place to start my base, was to start a small farm. I have a relatively small farm, only 1x2 plots. I watched a video from Jiivita about how to get the farm off the ground, and how to specifically farm Waxy Earthyams (i need wax for several things).

I went ahead and got the farming epic and i got on extra point in farming skill. Then I took the notes I got from Jiivita and started my farm. I made sure that I used Clay soil, that I tilled it, that I had access to water on at least two sides of it within two blocks. Great. Stuff grows.

Right now, my yield is 100% seeds and 188% crop. I am happy with those number but sure there is room for improvement. That is not the topic of this question. My question has to do with TIME.

So this farm is a total of roughly 110 tiles (because I dont have the water chisel so I got creative with a lake and undestroyed water blocks). I only have enough seeds for 74 blocks, fine. I literally plant all 74 seeds within 2 minutes. Every block is planted less than 1 second away from the adjacent blocks.

NOW… When I revisit my farm roughly 50 minutes later (even though it should take like 6 hours), like 10 of the 74 plants are almost done. Hovering says something like 50 minutes left. Another 20 or so show 4.5 hours remaining. Another 20 show 3.5 hours remaining. 10 or so show 2.5 hours. And like 10-15 show 6 hours still.