Hitting a game play road block?

I started playing boundless about a month or so ago and I’ve put in near 300 hours. My team (Me, my brother and cousin), all got the game at the same time and we all have played religiously, non stop. We had a massive build that we built on Solum, then wanted more challenge so we moved to Elopor and started our journey making out settlement, all with the intention of overtaking Elop Portas.
First, This game is amazing. How everything is player based is incredible. The building and complexity is first class, and the art style is perfect!
Now that we have played a while, we are hitting a road block. Our settlement is thriving, we have settlers and are on a great path forward, but at this point, I am having a hard time feeling rewarded for the time investment I am needing to put in.
I’ve built what we planned out and now the game is all about the economy. I’ve used a lot of my plots (too many to build anything worthwhile with the remainder). Same goes for my team.
We do have some expansion ideas on our build, but as I said, the time investment to gather the mats for the build (and the tools needed to gather it) doesn’t feel rewarding enough.

Although Boundless has a great building system, when you really look at the core of the game, its not a “building” game. Its an economic and power game. The main goal at this point in development is to either play the economy, or to gain prestige to climb the ranks to the capital city of your planet.
The problem is that the only reward is either the ability to be able to get more mats to build with or to get your settlement to the top, but then what?

I know that there is a lot of things planned for the game, that will hopefully improve on the Time vs Reward aspect of the game, but for now I’m just at a road block.