Lambdafunk's 8 Hour New Player Impressions

Hi guys! I’m brand new to Boundless. I have limited exposure to voxel games, having played only Minecraft (about 100 hours) and Landmark (about 60 hours). I know that the first few hours in a game can be the make it or break it window where a player will decide to stick with the game or move on, so I wanted to share my impressions and experiences with the game in the hope that they’ll be a useful resource. It’s very possible some of my suggestions here have already been solved in a manner that I’m not aware of. I’ve purposefully shielded myself from looking up stuff about the game so I could experience the world for what it is without the benefit of outside knowledge.

Tutorial
The pacing, length and material covered was great. I felt like it did a good job of helping you learn what you need to know to get going without being overbearing. I did have one hiccup along the way. When I reached the step where I needed to put down my first real beacon, I decided I wanted to pack up shop and move elsewhere before deploying for real. After tearing down the items I had created as part of the tutorial thus far, I had to log off for a while. When I came back, the tutorial kicked back on, but I had redo most of the tutorial again to get back to the point where I was in the tutorial progression. I was able to work through it again without a problem, but I was a bit bummed about the lost play time. The UI was showing rewards for going through the steps again, but I didn’t pay close enough attention to see if the notification was an accurate reflection of what was really happening to my character. Post tutorial, it took me longer than I’d like to admit to figure out how to get my HP back up after a fight. For whatever reason it wasn’t clicking in my mind that I needed to eat. That might be a point of consideration for the tutorial.

Connection Issues