Prestige Value of Natural Materials - a Small Rant

When I started playing Boundless, shortly after release, I followed what I feel is the typical new player progression: I followed the tutorial, fumbled around a lot, died to basic wildstock a few times… but eventually I figured out what was what, ditched my campfire for a real beacon, and settled down to build a home.

I’ve played voxel games like this before though - some game about mining and crafting, I don’t remember the name - so I wanted to build more than the typical Big Ol’ Cube o’ Ugly. So I planned a little bit, and learned to chisel, and generally made my little castle (as it eventually shaped up to be) look interesting and pleasing to the eye.

But here’s where I went wrong: I thought my home planet had some pretty nice looking natural resources. I ended up using the local sedimentary rock for my build, because I liked the pattern it made and didn’t really like the blocky artificial look of the stuff I got when I put said rock in a crafting machine.

As I built, I watched as other people built their own homes, and created villages, and towns, and cities, and I thought surely my house is big enough to at least qualify as a lowly settlement? Nope, not at 10,000 prestige yet. Not even close. Gee, 10,000 prestige is really hard to get! How is everyone else able to build up prestige so fast while I’m struggling to get a thousand or two?

How naive I was. Now I know the secret: don’t build with the natural rock. Because as pretty as it is, as much as it reminds me of real world marble palaces, it’s actually as lowly as mud, as far as the game is concerned. Actually, mud may even rank higher, I wouldn’t be surprised at all.