Boundless Model to OBJ app

Warning: Use this only if you know what you’re doing. Boundless game resources are obviously copyright, and this utility does not give you a license to use these resources. This is not legal advice, and I am not a lawyer.

I made an app to convert the MsgPack 3D model files in the boundless game dir to OBJ files which can be imported by normal 3D apps. I’ve put it on github here and made a release with a compiled version that anyone can download.

Usage

-i, --input       Required. Specifies the input MsgPack or JSON file to read.

-o, --output      Required. Specifies the output directory to write the OBJ file.

-g, --gradient    Required. Gradient specifier to use in format [[R,G,B],[R,G,B],[R,G,B]] where R, G and B are values between 0 and 255 inclusive.

-e, --emissive    Required. Emissive color to use in format [R,G,B] where R, G and B are values between 0 and 255 inclusive.

--help            Display this help screen.

--version         Display version information.

(not sure why some words are bold in there…)

Here’s an example of something I exported:

The tool handles the diffuse map, the gradient map, the normal map, and the emissive map.
NOTE: OBJ doesn’t support normal maps, it only supports bump maps, so you’ll need to change it in your graphics editing program after import. In blender it’s here:

let me know if u heff questions.

12 Likes

I open cmd and do something like this? idk what to put in the r,g,b’s
-i, --input C:\Users\Nick\Desktop\input(file name)

-o, --output C:\Users\Nick\Desktop\Output

-g, --gradient No ide here

-e, --emissive Same

–help Display this help screen.

–version Display version information.

Emissive its probably best to do
-e “[255, 255, 255]”
for gradient, that depends on what colour you want, but you can find the game’s values in the compiledcolorpalette file, which you can unpack with @Simoyd’s other tool :stuck_out_tongue: