Release: 114 - Servers going down (Nov 16) + Render and worlds update

Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fa0d22a6028>

Sorry fellow Oortians! The servers are going down for about 3 hours on Monday, Nov 16th so that we can do this update.

London Time (GMT): Mon, Nov 16th - 10:00 to 13:00

Other time zones

  • CET: Mon, Nov 16th - 11:00 to 14:00
  • AEDT: Mon, Nov 16th - 20:00 to 23:00
  • EST: Mon, Nov 16th - 5:00 to 8:00
  • PST: Mon, Nov 16t - 2:00 to 5:00

New

  • Updated renderer to LOD the vertically and much improved occlusion cuts down on the amount rendered in most cases… Too technical for me :wink:
  • The held torch has a flame visual effects.Yes, it was not a flash
    light.
  • Character models from the latest trailer can now be selected. Yes, the characters in the trailers were real!
  • Improved portal rendering, entities will now be clipped against portals so that they don’t poke through the back-sides of portals, and be rendered on both sides of the portals so that whilst walking through your player remains whole. It will look realistic like the real portals…
  • Type the first letter of a world name in the worlds menu to find worlds more quickly. It will save you split seconds.
  • MacOS 64 bit support. I am sure everyone was waiting for this…maybe…
  • Replaced the bird with a different model. It flies so fast! Can you spot the difference?

Fixes

  • Fix hand-held light sources to work through portals and be offset to
    the correct animated position of the item in your characters hand.
  • Most worlds lowered by 1 to fix sea levels to be a multiple of 16. If you seen the lines across the seas, this fixes it.
  • Edge of the world now bounded on the original world sizes. Sorry, if you have build your home beyond the edge of the world, you will be
    homeless.

Thank you! :wink:

P.S. I heard from a grapevine that early versions of be… and tr… are com… Ops… need to keep my mouth shut…

13 Likes

Bees and trains? YES FINALLY

8 Likes

Benches and trenches?^^

3 Likes

Bens and transexuals?

3 Likes

The first two skills: begging and tracking

First props: bells and trunks!
(seriously though I have no idea what he means :P)

1 Like

Beetroot and trousers.
(Me neither^^ but a wearable could be a possibility^^)

They mystery continues… :wink:

1 Like

Beards and trimmers for the new character models, Yes! :wink:

3 Likes

Beans and truffles?

1 Like

Beer and trophies.

3 Likes

I was :hushed:

3 Likes

I vote @brook_monroe for president.

Beacons and trading?

EDIT:
Beacons and (racial-) traits would also make sense.

8 Likes

Not gonna lie that hint is so cruel. Guess I won’t be sleeping til the 16th. :cry: :cry: :cry:

Trading might require more than one person online at once! :joy:

3 Likes

That had me laughing out loud at my desk! :slight_smile:

Any idea if you can get rid of the crashbug caused by picking up items? @yota

Hey there. That bug should be fixed with this version.

2 Likes

Does this mean a gain in terms of the LOD that gets rendered for the same over head?

Does this included the animations that we saw in the trailer?

2 Likes