Semi-comprehensive Visual World Builder Noise Guide

Note that this post should be used in conjunction with this guide to get players of even the most rudimentary technological and mathemetical skill level started using the world builder program.

I wanted to throw this together as a visual post instead of as a video as I believe text and still images will be a better medium to talk about this info in depth versus video. Before kicking things off I’d like to reference this post that started me on this idea. I don’t mean to belittle any of the work done on the post or the efforts of anyone involved with it. I merely hope to expand upon what they started using the newer world builder tool so others can be more comfortable with noise as a concept in practical application.

I also want to post a disclaimer that I will eventually try to post about all of the individual noise types (2D, 3D, and their cell counterparts) and the functions that combine them. However I am by no means an expert so I will merely be trying things out and using images to help me and others who don’t necessarily have extensive computer science/mathematics backgrounds.

Please feel free to correct me on any information I get wrong and I will correct it ASAP. Please also note that due to the sheer amount of information this post will eventually contain that it will be updated over time.

2D noise nodes

Constant

You can think of Constant 2D noise like a flat plane. When used with a heightmap it will draw a flat plane across the world with higher values creating higher altitude planes and lower values creating lower planes.

When using the blue button visualization tool on the constant noise node you’ll see a single color. In heightmap terms, colder = lower and hotter = higher. Example below:

Here is an example of constant noise used with the heightmap, strata, and substrate nodes:
Heightmap constant noise node value lower than sea-level: