Forge Beginner

I’m a forge beginner. I have no idea how to use it. How do you find out from stuff in the game?

I’ve read tool tips to various ingredients and it talks about Defect Points and Quirk Points and Boon Points and I’ve seen these things on forged items. But er … how do I get from A to B?

I did the tutorial where it told me to put some things in and press some buttons but it didn’t say why. And I ended up with a wooden hammer with +30 dmg iirc.

How do you learn forging? What I’d like to start with is a loot stick, maybe?

2 Likes

Greetings.

I don’t do much forging, but I do understand the concepts.

Basics:
Items are broken into one of six types. Effects you forge onto an item come from one of the six categories.

For instance, you want Drop Collector, or Magnetic Collector Boon. That can only be forged onto Tools, Spanners, or Chisels. Tools are axes, hammers, and shovels. This boon is in the Special category.

Here’s the full list of categories, types, etc.

Now, I’m going to assume you know about skills, which skills to put points into to make a character an effective forger, so I’ll skip those.

The more power your centraforge has, the more efficiency it will have. Efficiency maxes at 200%, and varies based on the material you are forging. Power seems to max at 7,200, from what I’ve seen.

Defects are negatives. These can reduce durability, damage, speed, etc. For a loot magnet, you might not care about these.

Quirks are annoyances. They have various effects, like constantly draining your energy while equipped, or making you unable to swim to the surface, or randomly jumping.

Boons, Defects, and Quirks have ranks. The more points that go into each one, the stronger they are. In the case of Loot Magnet, for instance, the range will increase. The higher the rank, the more points it costs to get to the next rank.

Gums are used to prefer an item to draw a specific category.