Keep your "macros" to your self

Someone told me this morning that they got passed a macro that runs in my tree farm, and how awesome it is. Also gleam mining, and another for block changing.

A bad start to my day, tbh.

I used to automate for a living, I don’t automate my leisure. And I feel like this seriously devalues my time and effort. Not just in terms of coins and customer loss but overall in terms of contribution to that vague thing we refer to as “the community” which is the combined effort of all of us working towards each person being able to achieve their goals in the game.

I know that some people here take pride in being avidly antisocial and never interacting with another player.
There are also people who never want to feel like any scrap of their effort has been used in any way to help another person achieve their own goals. It’s clear that people are going to feel differently on a topic like this. But there are plenty of people who either can’t or won’t run complex macros on a game they’re playing for fun and TBH I feel like it’s cheating, myself.

I’m literally making this post because it makes me feel like I have to defend my efforts, and what I’m putting into the game. I’m less eager to engage in trade or be supportive of this other person’s activities now, when they relegate any part of my contribution to “something to be done with a macro”. I already have a hard time every time they mention levels, or plots. It costs me respect for what they achieve in the game, and leaves every other player’s efforts up to question.

It also creates an imbalance in being able to appreciate their margins in a market. And it skews the way that I look at other people’s builds. It’s just a little harder to appreciate the effort put into a rare block changed marble or brick when it’s held in the fore that people are automating the process.