There seems to be a continuing theme that players are not returning to the game because they lost everything when their beacons expire. Should the game do something for players that have not been playing and their beacons expire? Should the game try to make a distinction between a player that has not been playing and an active player whose beacon has expired? If the blocks are stored, how long should the developers bear the cost of storing the information before letting it expire?
What should happen to the player placed blocks when their beacon expires?
- 1 – Nothing, they should be able to come back to it anytime they want. If the character is deleted then the build regenerates.
- 2 – The land regenerates, the build cannot be scavenged or plotted, but ALL the blocks (including what is in storage) goes into a vault system where it can be recovered by the player at a future date unless they delete the character and then the storage is erased.
- 3 – Nothing should change, a player can buy gleam club or get a friend to fuel beacons if they want to always be sure their build and all their storage is safe from regen.
- 4 – The land regenerates, the build cannot be scavenged or plotted, all the contents of the build are converted to a coin value (based on developer assigned values) which will be stored indefinitely as long as the player character that owned the beacon is not deleted.
- 5 – The land regenerates, the build cannot be scavenged or plotted, but ALL the blocks (including what is in storage) goes into a vault system where it can be recovered by the player at a future date if they pay a storage retrieval fee. Some amount of money in order to help cover the storage costs and to lessen abuse of the mechanic.
- 6 – Other option not listed above.
If Option 2 is what happens, how long should the developers store the data?
- 1 – Forever
- 2 – 1 year
- 3 – 6 months
- 4 – 3 months
- 5 – As long as the longest beacon fuel currently available in game would last.
- 6 – Other but not listed above.
Should a player have to have not been logged into the game for a certain time in order for the save mechanic to come into play?
- 1 – Yes
- 2 – No
If yes, what is the minimum time they have not been playing the game?
- 1 – 1 month
- 2 – 2 months
- 3 – 3 months
- 4 – 1 year
- 5 – Other but not listed above
If Option 2 in the first question is implemented, how would you implement the vault system remembering that the sanctum is local and not stored on the servers so might be subject to being hacked or manipulated?